Sportswomen of the Year Awards 2015

Sportswomen of the Year Awards 2015

The 2015 Sunday Times and Sky Sports Sportswomen of the Year Awards in association with Vitality has launched. The Awards, now in their 28th year, have led the way in recognising and celebrating the outstanding contribution to sport made by elite performers, coaches, administrators, community volunteers and inspirational women.

The British and Northern Ireland public were invited to submit nominations for the seven categories at by midday on Wednesday September 23.

A panel of experts will select the winners to be revealed at a star-studded awards ceremony at Sky Studios on the evening of Friday November 6. The Awards will be broadcast live on Sky Sports 1 and, for the first time, simultaneously on Sky 1.

Previous winners of the main award, the coveted Sportswoman of the Year accolade, include Jessica Ennis-Hill (pictured above), Sally Gunnell, Denise Lewis, Dame Kelly Holmes, Zara Phillips, Victoria Pendleton, and Christine Ohuruogu. Charlotte Dujardin, Olympic and world dressage champion, was crowned the 2014 Sportswoman of the Year.

The Sportswomen Awards are among the most prestigious and influential in the British sporting calendar and are once again supported by the Sport and Recreation Alliance, UK Sport, Sport England and Women in Sport.

The seven award categories are:

  • 1. Sunday Times & Sky Sports Sportswoman of the Year 2015 The ultimate accolade for your favourite Sportswoman of 2015

  • 2. Vitality Team of the Year Celebrating the achievements of Britain’s successful collective efforts

  • 3. Young Sportswoman of the Year Nominees must have been 21 or younger on January 1, 2015

  • 4. Disability Sportswoman of the Year Award The outstanding figure within a disability sport

  • 5. Community Award For individuals who have actively engaged with different groups of women within their community through sport

  • 6. The Helen Rollason Award for Inspiration Recognising inspirational endeavour in honour of the late sports presenter Helen Rollason

  • 7. Lifetime Achievement Award Recognising a lifetime of sporting success