News UK win nine at Press Awards

CHAMPION Sports Journalist of the Year Matthew Syed (The Times), left, with awards host, LBC radio presenter Nick Ferrari

Top sportswriter Matthew Syed from The Times spoke of the “huge honour” at being one of our nine winners at the industry ‘Oscars’, The Press Awards.

The prestigious awards at the London Hilton saw Syed win the Sports Journalist of the Year gong.

In all, News UK titles scooped nine awards – four for The Times, three going to The Sunday Times and two for The Sun.

Syed said: “It’s a huge honour. Thanks go to the brilliant team at The Times, led by Tim Hallissey [Head of Sport].”

Former Olympic table tennis player Syed was also victorious in last month’s SJA British Sports Journalism Awards, landing the best columnist crown.

“TOP DRAWER Cartoonist of the Year Morten Morland (The Times)

The Times dominated the best cartoonist category last night, with Morten Morland victorious and colleague Peter Brookes highly commended.

Judges praised Morland’s depiction of Kids Company founder Camila Batmanghelidjh with the colour draining out of her spectacular attire following the collapse of the charity.

WINNER Political Journalist of the Year Rachel Sylvester (The Times), centre

The Times also dominated the best political journalist category as Rachel Sylvester won and colleague Matthew Parris, the reigning champion, was highly commended.

Judges liked the “insightful commentary” of Sylvester, who said: “Thanks to the politicians for making our jobs such fun.”

Also victorious for The Times was Martin Fletcher, who won the Broadsheet Feature Writer of the Year category. Deputy editor Emma Tucker collected the award on Fletcher’s behalf as he was away on assignment, praising his “extraordinary writing”.

Dominic Lawson of The Sunday Times heralded title editor Martin Ivens after winning the Broadsheet Columnist of the Year accolade.

He said: “I want to thank Martin Ivens very much for the company.”

BEST INTERVIEWER Broadsheet Interviewer of the Year Camilla Long (The Sunday Times) with Nick Ferrari

In further Sunday Times triumphs, Camilla Long was Broadsheet Interviewer of the Year and Manu Brabo, renowned for his East Ukraine coverage, was crowned Photographer of the Year.

AT THE FRONT Head of Publishing Will Hagerty (left) and senior reporter Stephen Moyes (right) celebrate The Sun’s best front page accolade with Press Awards’ host Nick Ferrari

“A classic, brilliant front page” was the judges’ verdict on the award-winning ‘Busted (Lord Coke)’ entry from The Sun in scooping the Front Page of the Year gong.

Earlier in the evening, The Sun consumer editor Dan Jones was named Specialist Journalist of the Year.

The blue-ribbon Newspaper of the Year accolade went to The Mail on Sunday.