Latest News

News UK Advertising  - book and manage ads online

February 2014

Book your Classified Advertisements & Announcements, manage your advertising account online across all News UK titles.
Paid-for strategy paying dividends at News UK

December 2013

The Sun passes 100k milestone - total paid sales of all News UK titles now averages 2.75 million a day.
The Sunday Times dominates British Journalism Awards 20

December 2013

The Sunday Times dominated the British Journalism Awards 2013 at the Stationers’ Hall in London.
'The future of news' with Central Saint Martins

September 2013

Design & communications graduates from Central Saint Martins have teamed up with News UK to explore the future of news.
Victoria Newton appointed as editor, The Sun on Sunday.

September 2013

The newspaper, which recently announced it was taking on 16 new journalists, unveiled Newton as the new editor.

Atherton leads Times to six of the best at SJA Awards

13th March
Atherton leads Times to six of the best at SJA Awards

Michael Atherton led The Times to six top prizes at the SJA’s British Sports Journalism Awards, with The Thunderer taking the SJA/Laureus Sports Newspaper title for the second successive year,  while their cricket correspondent was named Sports Writer of the Year for a second time, as well as taking the prize for Specialist Correspondent.


The Times‘s winners came from across the board, with Matthew Syed winning Sports Feature Writer for a second year, Mark Souster’s exclusives on England’s Rugby World Cup reports taking Sports Scoop of the Year, and last year’s winner, Ed Hawkins, taking again the SJA/BetVictor Sports Betting Writer prize.


The power of photo-journalism was on display with freelancer Mark Robinson’s picture, published by The Sun, from the controversial Amir Khan fight last year, which shows the “mystery man” apparently interfering with the judging process during the world title bout.


But on a great night for Atherton, he also had a reasonable claim to a share of the Television Sports Programme, as Sky Sport’s coverage of Test cricket retained that title.


List of winners from The Times:


  • SJA/Laureus Sports Newspaper of the Year: The Times 
  • SJA Sports Writer of the Year: Michael Atherton (The Times) 
  • Sports Feature Writer: Matthew Syed (The Times).  
  • Sports Scoop: Leaked document exposes England Rugby World Cup shame (Mark Souster, The Times). 
  • Specialist Correspondent: Michael Atherton (The Times). Highly commended: Mark Souster (The Times) 
  • SJA/BetVictor Sports Betting Writer: Ed Hawkins (The Times).


To discuss advertising opportunities around our sporting content, or if you would like to see a Euro or a London 2012 presentation contact:


The Times and The Sunday Times

Telephone: 020 7782 7226


The Sun

Telephone: 0207 782 7193